Getting Away, Getting Out

I thought I got out. I told myself I did. But, you never really get out because it’s not on the outside that things are happening. You can leave, you can go to a new place, but you never get away from the places you’ve been because they become a part of you. The experiences mold the person you become and their memories always effect the person you will be.

When I first thought about getting out and getting away, I was thinking about getting away from home and experiencing something new. I’m going back home soon, but I won’t be there long. I’ve done more traveling in the past two years than I thought I would have at this point, but it still feels like I haven’t seen much.

Each time I have left one country for another I had those thoughts of going away, leaving, changing places, but if living abroad has taught me anything it is that nothing is ever quite as far out of reach as we think it is and we never get too far away from the places we’ve been.

This post is part of SoCS: http://lindaghill.wordpress.com/2014/07/11/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-july-1214/

4 thoughts on “Getting Away, Getting Out

  1. You’re so right. There’s a saying along the lines of this, something like, “no matter where you go, there you are.” This is so important to remember and be prepared for, so we don’t have unrealistic expectations about getting away from it all in a new place…great SOCS post!

  2. Isn’t that the truth? It’s like the old adage – You can run but you can’t hide from your own feelings.
    Great post. I can relate. 🙂 Thanks so much for joining in SoCS this week. 🙂

Leave a Reply

