Doing Something Different

Having a routine is important. A good routine in daily life provides continuity and is the best way to maximize your productivity. But, if you always refuse the unexpected and never find time in your schedule to try something new life takes on a dull and tedious form.

When I decided to go abroad to teach English as a foreign language, I wanted to go to Europe of South America. I ended up going to Taiwan. Before I went there I could not even find Taiwan on a map. I was nervous and a bit pessimistic about what the experience would offer me. I ended up living there for 18 months, created priceless bonds, discovered new interests, visited amazing places, and developed a new passion for travel.

While in Taiwan, I tried rock climbing for the first time and I loved it. If I had lived in a more convenient area I probably would have started going to the climbing gyms and picked it up as a hobby, but conflicting work schedules and an hour in transit can make picking up a new hobby much less appealing.

Willingness to step into the unknown has led me to wonderful discoveries. Some of my favorite places in the world are those which I never even planned to visit, such as the beautiful Jojakkoji Temple in Japan, and Delirium Cafe(there is more than one) in Brussels, a beer haven which kicked my ass one night and still had me eager for more on the next.

Most recently, while home on vacation from my nomadic lifestyle, I went sailing with my brothers on my uncle’s boat. My brothers and I have have tendencies towards motion sickness, so one of us was bound to be spitting over the edge at some point, but it wasn’t me. It was a weekday, so there were not many other boats out on the water. The wind pulled us over the water like a whisper and the day was spent in solitude away from the rush and pressures of life on land.

photo

Sailing is something I don’t foresee myself having the opportunity to do again in the near future, but when that chance comes, I will be excited for it. I don’t know if I’ll be able to develop the stomach to make a habit of the activity, but I’d be willing to make the effort.

The cliche states that variety is the spice of life, but I would contest that there is a much greater flavor found in discovery. It is only through the discovery that your life can find any real variety. There are of course limits. We only have time for so many things, but it’s nice to have options.

Leave a Reply

