Of Mice and Men

When I was in high school I was the kind of student who did not actually read the books that were assigned. I somehow managed to put together essays on the material that got me passing grades, a skill I am not exactly proud of having. Now that I have turned a corner and found an appreciation for books, it feels right to go back and visit those assignments I should have done back then.

I finished this one so fast I totally forgot to make a post about it, which only increases my embarrassment over my younger self skipping out on the effort. It is easy to see why this book is assigned in so many schools. Steinbeck does so well in giving us a close intimate knowledge of our characters in such a short space

Unsurprisingly the book is short on complexities which makes the plot very smooth and connects the events seamlessly. In it’s brevity, Of Mice and Men does not waste a word. Everything has value and contributes to the plot as a whole. I could especially see this as a valuable tool for a writer trying to find an example of bringing together different elements of one story harmoniously.

I would urge anybody considering the possibility of skipping out on this book to think again. Take the time. It does not require much, and it is worth every minute. It also has me excited to seek out more of Steinbeck’s work.

2 thoughts on “Of Mice and Men

  1. I’ve enjoyed a few of Steinbeck’s books over the years. I think my favorite is “Travels with Charlie”. Put it on your list if you haven’t read it already.

    • I appreciate the tip, good sir. I’m working on another of Steinbeck’s classics right now, ‘Grapes of Wrath’, you might have heard of it. But, ‘Travels with Charlie’ is certainly an immediate addition to the list.

Leave a Reply

